July, July

July: It is the seventh month of the year, the seventh month in the Gregorian calendar and the fifth in the ancient Roman calendar. It is, on average, the hottest month of the year. But then, if you live anywhere near where I do, you knew that already.

July is when the dog days start, the beginning of the really hot summer weather. I like the phrase, “the dog days.” Maybe because of the alliteration. I think it would make a good book title. Now, if I’m remembering correctly, they’re called the dog days because of Sirius, the dog star, having some effect on the weather. However, I’m not going to look it up and I read that in a novel when I was twelve or thirteen so don’t quote me on it. No, strike that: together we will spread misinformation around the world! NYC is the capital of New York! Everyone in Christopher Columbus’ era believed in a flat earth! A duck’s quack does not echo! Teflon kills you! (I don’t remember if that one’s true or not. . . )

Anyway, I thought I’d celebrate this month, July, with a really great song off of Laura Veirs’ new album, July Flame. The song is called. . . wait for it. . . . July Flame. It’s a really great track from an amazing singer/songwriter – check it out!

P.S. I apologize for the great number of (!)’s in this post. As Fitzgerald said, using exclamation points is like laughing at your own joke. Or maybe that was Hemingway. . .

1 Comment »

  1. Candice Lea Said:

    I’m so glad I found the Caldwell blog! I randomly saw you guys linked on Pierre Bellville’s. I hope you are having a great summer and enjoying the “dog days.” I enjoyed “July Flame” too. I’m going to have to check out some of the groups on your music list. I’m still forever grateful that you told Dr. Head about Owl City during Shakespeare class. I’d never heard him before and now I listen all the time!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment